.

Another Bank Coming... Which One Do You Use in West Roxbury?

TD Bank is coming to Centre Street, joining 14 other banks in West Roxbury.

 

There are a lot of banks and financial institutions in West Roxbury, and TD Bank is coming soon to Centre Street.

Banks don't make great storefronts, but just as , president of the West Roxbury Business and Professional Association, said,  for them so it is a good sign of strength."

So West Roxbury has money, at least enough money for a 15th bank to be opening up on Centre Street. TD Bank leveled the old Zoots building to make way for a new bank at the corner of Maple and Centre streets (see attached pics).

Said Jacobson about TD Bank coming to the neighborhood, "I’m happy to see them in. They’re a good quality bank and dealing with the people from TD have been nothing but helpful."

Zoots also found another location, at Willow Street, in the Roche Bros plaza, said Jacobson.

With another bank coming will you be switching your alliance to the TD Bank, as in the TD Bank Garden, where our beloved Boston Celtics play? Or will you be staying put at your bank? Maybe you've got accounts at different institutions. Or maybe you just stuff your money under your mattress.

Which bank, or banks, do you use, or not use, and why?

Susann Low May 24, 2012 at 10:54 AM
When telling friends directions I jokingly call Centre Street 'Bank Street' because our beloved quilt shop is gone, our family ice cream restaurant is gone, and all that we seem to have coming in are banking institutions. In our big busy world who doesn't appreciate exemplary customer service? Recently, my younger son left our debit card at a teller window, just minutes before closing time. He didn't know he'd left it but we got a telephone call to home telling me the card was there and it was safe. Personalized service/smiling friendly staffers who act as though you are their ONLY customer when you cross the bank threshold (not to mention those funny historical figure commercials) and terrific banking options, what more could a customer ask? (And when I take 2-3 blue lollipops they ENCOURAGE my 'habit'... life is good.) Citizens Bank is big banking with a small-community tone... I guess I just appreciate happy employees who don't feel they're 'doing me a favor' by taking my money or giving me money back.
Dolores Burton May 24, 2012 at 11:03 AM
Will Regis and Kathy Lee be putting in an appearance too?
Mary Mulvey Jacobson May 24, 2012 at 11:04 AM
For decades, I have called West Roxbury Mini Grand Cayman. The number of banks we have now is only one more than what we had in the 1980's - 1990's. When I see the demolition of Zoots, I see South Boston Savings Bank and Eliot Bank before it at that site.
Kate May 24, 2012 at 11:06 AM
I use the City of Boston Credit Union. Take one look at their checking account fees and you will swith as well!
ann carbone May 24, 2012 at 11:16 AM
Thank goodness another bank....please landlords do not rent to a knitting shop or other business that would draw shoppers...
Michelle May 24, 2012 at 11:57 AM
5 Stars for creativity....
Gary Chase May 24, 2012 at 12:18 PM
Why did they have to level that building? It was built in the late '90s as a bank. Was it really necessary to create all that debris, rather than just renovate? My opinion on banking locally? Pick a bank where the profits will stay "local". TD bank (Canada), Citizens (Scotland) and Sovereign (Spain) may have nice folks working there, but their profits all head right back to headquarters. There are AMPLE local choices on the block. Why not pick one that keeps it's money in Massachusetts? [I am a loyal customer of Brookline Bank, if that is relevant.]
Tim McLaughlin May 24, 2012 at 12:26 PM
I'm thrilled that TD Bank is coming to West Roxbury - Finally a Bank that really believes in Customer Service and that also gives back to the community through meaningful Affinity programs instead of hitting you with fees like the other guys. TD Bank's hours are awesome too. I have been driving to Walpole just so I could use TD Bank and the tellers there are friendly and they know their customers by name. I have my mortgage through TD Bank and I was able to lower my rate with a simple rate adjustment rather than going through a whole re-finance process. I can't say enough about TD Bank - Move over old banks - Let TD show you how Customer Service really works!
Rick Ward May 24, 2012 at 12:41 PM
Thank God Roslindale Village maintains its village charm with JUST 3 banks and that's all we need! Is there that much more $$ in West Roxbury that they need 15 banks? I dont think so.
cher May 24, 2012 at 01:04 PM
Ann, I agree, but with commercial leases costing what they do, it's not surprising there's not more small independent business. Therein is the fundamental problem.
Stephen Smith May 24, 2012 at 01:15 PM
I agree with the comment that I am at a loss to why what is a relatively new building had to be torn down. The more things change, the more they stay the same...growing up in West Roxbury in the 70s we had numerous banks on Centre Street as well. I'd like see a greater diversity but landlords don't want to take the chance and instead rent to businesses that seldom fail
tony diaz May 24, 2012 at 02:54 PM
this town is wayyyy to uptight , no one else sees this as an issue? town has a sky high opiate problem, and more and more bank robberies on the rise and this is a good idea? how about some programs to help some people? the neighborhood is a living breathing facade, its a deception. how about some local businesses , and thing but another uptight-stuffy bank...
james marcucci May 24, 2012 at 04:18 PM
Its wonderful to see that zoots dry cleaners moved to the corner of willow and centre st in the roche bros plaza! Its always nice to see a local family owned business keep its doors open.
Joe Murphy May 24, 2012 at 05:08 PM
This is incredibly sad....If this were to be a restraunt, or maybe a growing family needing an add on, they would be dragged through the mud with neighborhood meetings, meetings with the BRA, WRICA, and the W.R. neighborhood association. I live up the street. Why were abutters not informed. This town is slowly becoming a disgrace, and I have lived here 40 years. People I work with laugh at us for allowing this to continue. Why don't you USELESS NEIGHBORHOOD GROUPS put yourselves to good use and stop these people for ruining our quality of life, instead of you trying to keep ours from getting better. Awful, awful, awful.....shame on you. Whomever allowed this to continue, as they all have in the passed by slipping through the back door, should be publicly outed as the ones who favor a sterile, nonusable business district. *Correction....WEST ROXBURY FINANCIAL DISTRICT
Paula Mooney May 24, 2012 at 06:06 PM
I am totally disgusted. Why bother "polling" residents on what WE would like to see in OUR neighborhood? Why do we join Neighborhood Associations? West Roxbury residents have absolutely no recourse. "Our" downtown area has no character, no personality, nothing to offer but banking services and manicures. I am well aware that the landlords are to blame for prohibiting us from having a nice "neighborly" downtown are. Why don't those people "in the know" share the name(s) of said landlord(s) and the residents can join forces and address them directly?!? Yes, as previously mentioned, we now live in the West Roxbury Financial District.
Matt May 24, 2012 at 06:14 PM
From the look of it (see above article) our Councilor’s were preoccupied celebrating Virginia’s Birthday. P.S. No offence Virginia (at 100 I highly doubted you use a computer), Happy Birthday. But to be serious for a second, why are these people being paid with taxpayer money? I was under the impression it was to act on behalf of the community as a strong voice and to provide us with representation. HACKS. The position of District Councilor need to be done away with (or at least the current occupant of the position), when his (O’Malley) whole term has been spent fight for a Dog Park and the installation of speed bumps I think we all need to reflect and ask ourselves; “Do we really need these bums to represent us?” And its not going to get better, when O’Malley moves on a young and up and coming Hack named Chis Carol (He is glued to O’Malley’s Hip, you may have seen him around. He’s the Mayor of Roslindale) will run ready to serve Mumbles and his politico dynasty.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »